Pandemic Life, What’s Missing

As we have collectively experienced the novel coronavirus pandemic, known as COVID-19, over the past 15 months, I have said throughout that my day-to-day life really hasn’t changed all that much.

I was already working from home most of the time, and we rarely eat out or go to the movies so having those things closed down did not bother us too much. I still went to the same 6 stores I always go to, although, our Prime account did get more of a workout. Most of our leisure time pre-pandemic was spent walking, hiking or kayaking — activities we continued throughout the ordeal.

The two main differences were education and travel.

For education, our college-aged children were home. Online learning was wretched for them, but we enjoyed spending time together. However, the elementary school-aged foster children were another story. Early on, we became full-time teachers, with my wife taking on the brunt of the challenge. After a few months though, the children were able to return to day care, where they received their online learning allowing us to return to “normal”.

I will say that we dearly missed travel. We are globe-trotters by nature, so not being able to run off to discover some exotic land was missed for sure. I even came to miss my annoying in and out business trips.

Today marked my first pandemic business trip. (Yes, I said that correctly because we are not yet “post-pandemic” no matter what the media would have you believe.) The airport was a ghost town when I arrived during what would normally be prime commuter time. However, the plane from DC to Atlanta was completely full.

As we prepared to board, the ticket agent made the obligatory announcement: “Face coverings must be worn at all times while on-board and while entering and exiting the aircraft.” She then promptly added: “We are proud to announce that snack and beverage service has returned to Delta flights.”

The irony of the in congruency of these two statements was not lost on most of us. What a good idea! Let’s have an entire plane full of people, couped up in a confined space, all remove their masks to nibble some tasteless cookies at the exact same time during a lingering pandemic.

Naturally, I dutifully wore my mask for the duration of the flight, except to consume my Diet Coke and dry biscottis, while I breathed in the odorless molecules about me.

Ah, the business trip.

I arrived at my hotel in Duluth, Georgia and was reminded of the pleasures of business travel. “Welcome back, Mr. Webb. Your room is ready for you.”

As I used my keycard to enter my first hotel room, the “Clorox sanitized” seal broke with a satisfying snap. Of course, the Clorox smell is not nearly as satisfying, but there is still an odd comfort in it.

I am famished. It seems the dry, tasteless biscottis were not enough to satisfy.

I stroll a few blocks on this beautiful Georgian May Day to a little sports bar.

Masks seem to pretty much be optional in Georgia compared to their compulsory use in NoVa. The restaurant staff dutifully wore them, but it was a mix for the patrons, and once food arrived they were cast away like yesterday’s nightmares.

I bellied up to the outside bar, ordered a Stella and Black and Bleu Berger and relished with joy being out amongst the living again.

The Premiere League was on the telè. (Am I in Georgia or England?) Crystal Palace is about to kickoff against Southampton.

So, I am not what you would call a “sports guy”. Ironic considering my business trip is to rub elbows with PGA Tour Champions. Being from The Ohio State University, I love college football, but could care less about the NFL. I enjoying taking in any game live, but don’t follow sports at all or watch much on tv. I do love hockey, but do not take the time to watch. I do like Futball, and I do enjoy watching a good match, but don’t have a clue about teams or players (please don’t tell my French brother-in-law).

So, I am drinking Stella on a business trip in the middle of the afternoon in Georgia. Let’s watch a European soccer match!

Wow! The first minute, the Belgian-born Benteke immediately tries his luck at a long-range shot on goal. A near miss, but I knew immediately that he was the one to watch.

Second minute, a Crystal Palace free kick comes in, and the ball finds its way to Benteke. Southampton is at a loss to relieve it from him. After perhaps the most precise, brilliant display of athleticism I have seen, Benteke finds the goal.

My food arrives. I eat my overcooked burger and delicious fries continuing to watch the match, which was fairly boring after that second minute, but then it dawns on me.

There is no one in the stands, save for a handful of spouses and sponsors. They are missing the extra player — the fans.

I am one that believes sports are waaaay over-rated. Can’t stand the commercialization (saying that knowing full well that I am at a company-sponsored sporting event). Can’t stand making sports figures larger-than-life. They are just people, people. However, after witnessing the beautiful goaaaaaal by Benteke, a Belgian player I just met virtually from a bar in Georgia, I almost started crying when I saw those empty stands.

Sure hundreds of thousands, if not millions, will see that play on their televisions. However, few were there to witness it. To experience it. To celebrate it. To live it.

I returned to my hotel room to wash my hands and to breathe in the smell of Clorox. As my nose burned, I thought to myself, perhaps I am a sports fan after all. And perhaps this pandemic truly did alter the way I live my life. I really do miss the things I used to take for granted and failed to appreciate — the way we all commune and celebrate with one another.

About Kevin R. Webb

Kevin R. Webb opines about life, travel, leadership, sustainable development, and other topics of interest in this Earthwise Journal.
This entry was posted in Healthy, Wealthy & Wise. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment